top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFay Ford

Writing from Home

It's been a tough year. I first want to say thanks to the Mycelium community and network for your patience and wonderful work. We are so happy with issue one, and issue two is shaping up to be incredible. I'm so happy that writers are still writing, and that new writers rightfully have the courage and will to submit their work to journals like ours.


Before I give an update on the reading process, I'd like to take a moment to describe my writing atmosphere and the recent changes to my self conception as an author.


The items on my desk change daily, with my flurry of mania-driven constant rearranging. Since quarantine began my desks have been in no less than 12 different places. Most recently, when rearranging my desk and the things around it in my home office/guest room/greenhouse/storage room, my bride to be said "looks great honey, can't wait to see what you do with it next week."


Today though, there's a green and blue lava lamp to my right, and my high school creative writing journal to my left. I've started drafting my writing by hand again, and wanting to break the watch on half filling notebooks, I dug out the oldest one I could find. I lack the courage to share any of it, but what I've been drafting will certainly be in the world someday.


Also to my right in my common room desk shaped like an L is a pile of sketchbooks, sewing materials, halloween decorations, and pushpins. Unfinished projects, really. I love to start things and I generally hate to finish them. It's another habit I'm trying to break. Thus, my fierce determination to come back to this literary magazine with every bit of love I have. I love reading, and everyone who submits their work to this journal affords me that privilege. Thank you.


I'm currently in school, pursuing a PhD in medieval literature, and this semester was my last semester of course work. I had the privilege of taking a nonfiction writing class that changed the trajectory of my writing and also tangentially re-invigorated my deep love for writing poetry. I'll be updating this blog hopefully weekly with little nonfiction vignettes.


-

Responses to submissions for issue two and our special issue on music will begin to go out within three weeks. Those of you who submitted to issue one and were told you would be considered for issue two will get responses first. Thank you again for your patience. We care about your work and we want to help it meet the world.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodnight

Readers, I write to you with mist in my eyes. This is Mycelium’s final blog post for the foreseeable future, as the team has decided that we are in need of an indefinite hiatus. One editor is freshly

Mental Health, Words, and Time

I’m neurodivergent. Without getting into the specifics, I struggle with starting tasks and seeing them through. I’ve been coming back to myself, coming back to my executive functioning and true thinki

bottom of page