top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFay Ford

Mental Health, Words, and Time

I’m neurodivergent. Without getting into the specifics, I struggle with starting tasks and seeing them through. I’ve been coming back to myself, coming back to my executive functioning and true thinking. Where I find myself now is firmly planted on the ground, feet growing deep into the earth, pulsing with love from the mycelial network. Among this network, signals are sent in my favor, nutrients make their ways to me. I’m growing once more, coming out of my wintering. This means it’s time to take on submissions for issue three, PHOTOSYNESTHESIA. Issue Three feels like a milestone of realness. Here we come, realness.


What I hope to build with Mycelium Magazine is a regular issue release that is sustainable both physically and emotionally. Being neurodivergent and just who I am, I often make plans that are too big to keep. Now I am entering the habit of making plans that my ambitious self thinks are too small, but my future self can more easily tackle. Thus, one main issue per year is going to be the new goal for Mycelium Magazine, with one short issue at the half year.


Putting together the special music issue was lovely, healing, challenging, and we want to do more like that. Since we have set an issue number for the year at one main issue, we will be extending the submission period to beyond the summer solstice. I’m happy to be giving more time and space to submissions. Part of this means also holding myself to a new timeline of responding; my goal is a three week turnaround period once we reach a certain number of submissions, which we are fast approaching! This turnaround depends on people beyond me, though: Aaron and Bee will need to have eyes on the submissions as well.


One and a half issues per year feels right, it feels weighty and serious. It gives the team time and space to consider print publishing for this and future issues. Time is the key here. Words need time. We need time. Thank you, for yours.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodnight

Readers, I write to you with mist in my eyes. This is Mycelium’s final blog post for the foreseeable future, as the team has decided that we are in need of an indefinite hiatus. One editor is freshly

bottom of page