top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFay Ford

The Story of our Name

Updated: Jun 6, 2019

It took us a long time to get to Mycelium. Aaron and I sat at my computer laughing at the names generated by random websites, writing down the occasional catchy one. We had a list of potential names, Mycelium being one of them, and had to narrow down. We decided on Mycelium for a variety of reasons, but especially because it speaks to a deep level of connection. What we want out of this magazine is to show those connections; how fiction, poetry, nonfiction, comics, illustrations, etc. are all connected through the human experience. Mycelium are the fine white filaments connecting fungus in the underground, in the unseen. We felt that many connections between different art forms are often unseen, like mycelium, and we wanted to bring that to the forefront. What we were looking for was something organic, catchy, interesting, and dynamic. Really, what's more dynamic than fungus, growing off of decay and dampness? Thus, our name was born.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goodnight

Readers, I write to you with mist in my eyes. This is Mycelium’s final blog post for the foreseeable future, as the team has decided that we are in need of an indefinite hiatus. One editor is freshly

Mental Health, Words, and Time

I’m neurodivergent. Without getting into the specifics, I struggle with starting tasks and seeing them through. I’ve been coming back to myself, coming back to my executive functioning and true thinki

bottom of page